Diploma in Social Work (DipSW)

(Most Universities and Colleges in Scotland offering the Diploma in Social Work combine it with an academic award, eg. BA in Social Work)

Entry Requirements:
As the Diploma in Social Work can be studied as a non-graduate course or as part of an undergraduate or post-graduate course then entry requirements do vary. The minimum requirements are five SCE passes, three at Higher level, or two A levels plus three GCSE passes. Most Colleges or Universities offering the DipSW have AP(E)L schemes that provide recognition of other certified or experiential learning and work experience. This would include recognition of awards such as the HNC (Social Care) and the SVQ in Care Level III.

Brief summary of main subject areas:
The knowledge base is linked to the Diploma's core competences and values, and is subdivided as follows:
Communicate and Engage
Promote and Enable
Assess and Plan
- statutory duties and powers
- understanding people and the impact of change
- assessment of need and care planning
Intervene and Provide Services
Work in Organisations
Develop Professional Competence
Ethics and Values in Social Work

Mode of delivery and duration:
Currently under review but can be studied as a non-graduate, undergraduate or post-graduate course linked to separate academic awards. Courses therefore vary in length from two to four years. Distance learning courses also exist.

Placement requirements:
Two placements must take place. Competence is assessed on these.

Certification and recognition:
Recognised throughout UK as the professional award for social work practice. Awarded nationally by the Central Council for Education and Training in Social Work (CCETSW).

DipSW holders are encouraged to work towards Post-Qualifying and Advanced Awards, including the Practice Teaching award and Mental Health Social Work award. The range of available courses at PQ and Advanced level is gradually growing.

©West of Scotland Consortium for Education and Training in Social Work 2001.